Sort by Tags |

Gluten Free

Gluten Free Chocolates

Following a gluten-free diet is difficult. It demands severe commitment and sincere conviction to determine which foods are safe for consumption. When consider sweets containing gluten particularly chocolates, it is one topic that involves excessive uncertainty as many chocolates are made with flour, barley malt, or other ingredients that often contain gluten.

Let us see if chocolate is gluten-free and can be enjoyed if one is following a gluten-free diet.

Let us first understand what gluten is.

Gluten is a protein that is found in many types of grains, such as rye, barley, and wheat. Most people can digest gluten without any difficulties. However, the consumption of foods that contain gluten can cause side effects in those having celiac disease or who are sensitive to gluten. For those with celiac disease, intake of gluten encourages an immune response that causes the body to attack healthy tissue. This causes symptoms like diarrhea, nutritional deficiencies, and fatigue.

Whereas, those who possess a sensitivity to gluten may experience effects such as bloating, gas, and nausea after consumption of foods that contain gluten. For people having celiac disease, consuming ingredients that do not contain gluten is a key factor that helps avoid side effects and facilitate overall health as intake of gluten can cause unfavorable effects for those having celiac disease or those who possess a sensitivity to gluten. Well, we have some good news; having celiac disease or being sensitive to gluten cannot stop you from having chocolates, the condition being you choose your chocolates wisely.

Pure Chocolate Is Gluten-Free

Pure dark chocolate that is unsweetened is derived from roasted cacao beans. Cocoa beans do not contain gluten naturally. However, not many people are fond of pure chocolate, as the taste is very much different from the sweetmeats that we are acquainted with.

It’s important that you carefully check the label for any additional ingredients that may contain gluten as many contain 10–15 ingredients such as powdered milk, vanilla, and soy lecithin.

Also, many chocolate products contain ingredients, like emulsifiers and flavoring agents that help enhance its taste and texture. Some of these ingredients may also contain gluten. One more factor to take into account is the risk of cross-contamination. Even if a chocolate product does not contain ingredients with gluten, it still may not be free of gluten.

This can happen in the event that chocolates are being processed in a facility that also produces foods that contain gluten and become cross-contaminated.

Therefore, if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity it’s always best that you opt for products that are certified gluten-free chocolates to save yourself any unpleasant and severe health effects.

Many varieties of gluten-free chocolate are made using just a few simple ingredients such as liquefied cacao beans, cocoa butter, and sugar.

Hence it is important that you opt for a dark chocolate that is made with least ingredients such as roasted cocoa beans and cocoa butter. The best would be to opt for a sugar-free gluten free dark chocolate to increase the health quotient of your dessert.