Which Chocolate are Gluten Free?
Following a gluten-free diet is not easy. One needs strict dedication and earnestness to determine which foods can be eaten safely and which should not be consumed. When you talk of sweets containing gluten specifically chocolates, it is one topic that is uncertain as many kinds are made with the use of flour, barley malt, or other ingredients that often have gluten.
In this article, we would discuss if chocolate is gluten-free and can be enjoyed if one is on a gluten-free diet.
Before understanding, if chocolate is gluten-free, we will first try to understand what gluten is.
What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a kind of protein that is found in many types of grains, such as rye, barley, and wheat. Most people can digest gluten without experiencing any troubles. However, the consumption of foods that contain gluten can lead to side effects in those having celiac disease or have a sensitivity to gluten. For those having celiac disease, consumption of gluten triggers an immune response that leads the body to attack healthy tissue. This causes symptoms such as diarrhea, nutritional deficiencies, and fatigue.
Meanwhile, those having gluten sensitivity may feel effects such as bloating, gas, and nausea after eating foods that contain gluten. For people having celiac disease, consuming ingredients that are devoid of gluten is a key factor that leads to the prevention of side effects and facilitating overall health as consuming gluten can cause adverse effects for those with celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten. Well, there is some pleasant news; you can have chocolate if you are wise about your choice.
Pure Chocolate Is Gluten-Free
Pure dark chocolate that is unsweetened derived from roasted cacao beans does not contain gluten naturally. However, not many people like pure chocolate, as the taste differs very much as compared to the sweetmeats that you are much friendlier with.
Many varieties of high-quality chocolate are made using just a few simple ingredients such as liquefied cacao beans, cocoa butter, and sugar, and all these are regarded as gluten-free. On the other hand, many contain 10–15 ingredients such as powdered milk, vanilla, and soy lecithin.
Hence, it’s crucial to carefully check the label for any additional ingredients that may contain gluten.
Also, many chocolate products contain additional ingredients, like emulsifiers and flavoring agents that enhance its taste and texture. Some of these ingredients may have gluten. One more factor to consider is the risk of cross-contamination. Even if a chocolate product is devoid of any ingredients with gluten, it still may not be free of gluten.
This can happen as a result of chocolates being processed in a facility that also produces gluten-containing foods as become cross-contaminated.
Therefore, if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity it’s always best to go for products that are certified gluten-free chocolates to save yourself from experiencing unfavorable and severe health effects.
Hence it is important that go for a dark chocolate that is made with minimum ingredients such as roasted cocoa beans and cocoa butter. The best would be to opt for a sugar-free dark chocolate to increase the health quotient.
List of Gluten Free Chocolates:
- 55% Signature Blend Multi origin dark chocolate
- 71% Equador Single Origin Drak Chocolate
- 80% Uganda Single Origin Dark Chocolate
- Roasted Almonds With Belgium Milk Chocolate
- 45% Mild Dark chocolate with caramalized almond and sea salt
- 70% Indian Origin intense dark chocolate
- 65% Intense dark chocolate with muesli
- 45% Mild Dark chocolate with Roasted Hazelnut
- 70% Dark chocolate with almond
- 70% Dark chocolate with Mint
- 65% Dark Chocolate wIth Orange